You Are Forgiven Week 1

You Are Forgiven Week 1


This week I began on the journey of going through the Love God Greatly’s You Are Forgiven Book.

As far as I know, everyone wants to be forgiven for their wrong doings.

Nobody wants a mistake or a wrong-doing to hang over their heads for the rest of their life!  The thing is, you can’t truly understand forgiveness, or truly appreciate it, unless you recognize what sin is.  And that is exactly what we focused on this first week of the You Are Forgiven Book.

Nobody really likes to hear about sin nor do they want to know more about it.

It’s a kind of cringe worthy word!  But what exactly is sin?  Here is what the Merriam-Webster definition says online:

Sin – 1. a: an offence against religious or moral law

b: an action that is or is felt to be highly reprehensible

c: An often serious shortcoming

2. a: transgression of the law of God

b: a vitiated state of human nature in which the self is estranged from God

The biblical definition of sin is this:

The truth is that sin, as defined in the original translations of the Bible, means “to miss the mark.” The mark, in this case, is the standard of perfection established by God and evidenced by Jesus. Viewed in that light, it is clear that we are all sinners.

The Apostle Paul says in Romans 3:23: “All have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.”

http://www.allaboutgod.com/what-is-sin.htm

A pretty heavy concept for week 1!

But like I said before, if we don’t recognize sin or even know exactly what it means, we can’t fully understand forgiveness!  The thought or idea that everybody that is a human, sins, is pretty depressing!  And coming to terms with the sin in my own heart?  Even more depressing!  But that just makes what Jesus did on the cross for me even more meaningful!  You see, I know what I’ve done, the wrongs I’ve committed, the mistakes I’ve made.  And to know that He would still die for me???  Of all people???  Truly humbling!

This is the beauty of forgiveness!

That is why I include faith posts in my blog, because what Jesus did for me on the cross is beauty.  My relationship with Him and my faith in Him, is beauty!  And we are going to learn so much more about what forgiveness means in the coming weeks.  We are going to learn what had to happen, in order that there be forgiveness.  We are going to learn the awfulness of Jesus’ death, because of the awfulness of sin!


img_4030

Would you like to join me on this journey through the You Are Forgiven Book?

Find me on social media!

Facebook  .  Instagram  .  Twitter . Bloglovin

*This post includes links, that when clicked, lead to other blog posts or websites.

 

6 thoughts on “You Are Forgiven Week 1

Leave a Reply

