You Are Forgiven Week 2

You Are Forgiven Week 2

You Are Forgiven Week 2


Whew!  I didn’t think that this You Are Forgiven study was going to be so hard!

I was so thrilled to get into learning about all the ways that I am forgiven, but I didn’t take into consideration having to deal with my sin first, before I can get to the forgiveness part!

Week 1 was tough because we had to take a hard look at sin itself, and what exactly sin is.  Week 2 has been hard because a lot of stuff in my life that is still there, deep inside, was revealed to me…and that’s never fun!!  It just goes to show that no matter how many years a person walks with the Lord, they are never really free of sinning this side of heaven!

 As followers of Christ, we don’t like dealing with sin!

It’s much easier to try and conceal our sin by hiding it, or trying to appear as if we have it all together, or to compare our sin to others so that we don’t seem that bad, or to contribute to our sin by “doing good deeds” for the Lord, but never actually dealing with our sin.  And so, yes, if I’m going to be completely honest, I still struggle with these strategies.

As difficult as this is for me to admit to, there is a brightside to this week’s study. 

And that is, God’s plan for salvation. The amazing thing is knowing that God chose me before the beginning of time, even though He knew how I would sin!  God knew, and yet He still sent His only Son to die for my sins…for your sins!  Why?  Because God knew this was the only way to save us!  If there was any other way, God would’ve done it.

This is the Good News!  Jesus died so I could live!

All I need to do, once I accept this free gift of salvation,  is to continue to seek His face and pray.  And when I sin, (and that’s WHEN not IF), I must agree with God that my sin is wrong and then turn from it.  He promises to forgive, as many times as need be.  That is the encouraging part – I don’t need to be weighed down by it any longer.  So, this is what must be done with all of this yucky “stuff” that was brought up in my life this week.  Seek, pray, confess and turn from.

 Are you weary from the weight of your sin?  Exhausted from all of the concealing, running, and pretending like you have it all together?  Frustrated at your inability to beat this thing on your own?  There’s a better way.  There is just one way.  I invite you to run to Jesus to find the Way to forgiveness.

“But the thing to remember is that, though our feelings come and go, His love for us does not.  It is not wearied by our sins, or our indifference; and therefore it is quite relentless in its determination that we shall be cured of those sons, at whatever cost to us, at whatever cost to Him.”  -C.S. Lewis, Mere Christianity

(Taken from the You Are Forgiven Book)


There was much reflection and revelation for me in You Are Forgiven Week 2.  I thank God for His great love and ability to always forgives me!

 

img_4030

Would you like to join me on this journey through the You Are Forgiven Book?

Find me on social media!

Facebook  .  Instagram  .  Twitter . Bloglovin

*This post includes links, that when clicked, lead to other blog posts or websites.

 

2 thoughts on “You Are Forgiven Week 2

Leave a Reply

