The Truth About Selling Avon

The Truth About Selling Avon

recruit

Why Avon?

I have very fond memories of Avon from childhood.  My best friend’s mom was an Avon Lady and I remember sitting on the living room floor, stamping and bagging brochures, and then walking around the neighborhood to hang them onto people’s doors.  I can still remember the excitement of flipping through the pages of the brochure, looking at all of the makeup and fragrances.  I remember helping my friend’s mom unbox orders and seeing all of the goodies inside!  Years later, when I had children of my own, the opportunity came up for me to become a representative myself, and I went ahead and signed up.  At the time, I was a stay-at-home mom of a toddler and a newborn baby.  I thought that selling Avon would be a fun way for me to actually get to talk to other adults and meet new people, and make a little extra money on the side. It was more or less a hobby for me.  I always knew, though, that if I wanted to do more with it later on down the road, the opportunity was there.

Avon vs. other direct selling companies?

I’ve tried selling with other direct selling companies, and even though all the ones I tried, start off with 50% earnings right off the bat, and Avon starts at only 25%, I’m still selling Avon and not the others!  Mainly because, with other direct sales companies I was limited to selling one thing, i.e. only housewares, only makeup & skincare, only jewelry, only health items, and so on and so forth.  With Avon, there are so many categories to sell from;  makeup, skincare, bath and body, clothes, shoes, jewelry, home goods, hair products, fragrances, etc.  Also, other companies cost $100+ to start, plus a monthly fee for a website.  You can own your own business with Avon for $15 (*September 16th the cost will go up to $25), AND you get a free website to sell from!

Do you really make money selling Avon?

As I stated above, Avon was more of a hobby for me for many years.  I didn’t really make a lot of money selling.  I was able to, however, purchase daily needs like body wash, lotion, makeup, skincare, etc. and that helped our income out quite a bit, as we didn’t have to purchase this stuff at the store!  About 5 years ago I decided to turn my Avon hobby into a full-fledged business. I decided to join leadership, which is merely getting other people to sign up to sell Avon and then training them to do what I do. When I began the leadership part of my business, I began to make a commission check, based on my sales and team’s sales combined.  Depending on the size of my team and how much we sell cumulatively, is how much of a percentage I make.  I also really began working on increasing my personal sales to the point that I made President’s Club!  To earn President’s Club I had to sell a total of $10,100 in a year. Being a President’s Club member gives me many perks, one of which is a guaranteed earnings level of 40% on my core personal sales.  Now, there are many, many people out there that are making the BIG bucks with Avon!!!  I am not one of them, but making this extra money with Avon has afforded me the ability to not have to work outside of the home.  My earnings help out with putting gas in my car, helping to pay some of our credit card debt, paying for my kids’ extra curricular activities,  paying a bill or two, and being able to do the fun, little things, like take my kids out for ice cream.

What are the different ways to make money selling Avon?

With Avon, you can really make it your own business and sell how you want to sell.  You can truly make it a business to fit around your lifestyle.  You can focus on sales; face to face sales, like the Avon ladies of old, or you can sell via your very own website (more on that later).  If you want, you can have home parties and even do local events to promote sales.  You never have to carry any inventory either, but you can if you want to. You can also make money through leadership, as I stated earlier.  Build your own team and teach them how to be successful reps and earn a commission check!

Okay so more about selling online.  Avon provides their reps with their own website for free!  There is a representative website where you place your face to face orders and it also has training tools and plenty of ways to help to make your business successful.  Avon has been working really hard to help Avon reps be as successful as possible by giving them the tools that they need to sell online successfully!  There is a social media center with pre-designed posts to place on social media outlets, there are pre-designed emails to send in order to keep your online customers in the loop, and Avon runs specials for your website and it doesn’t ever affect your personal earnings!  And you do earn a percentage of your sales when you sell online.  Some reps sell strictly online because they don’t have to deliver the products to customers, as it gets shipped directly to them when they order from your website.

Does Avon reward their reps with trips?

Many direct selling companies hold trip incentives and yearly conferences where they do recognition for their reps.  Avon is no different.  Avon often has incentives for their reps, as well as yearly conferences.  Some of the trips that have been offered by Avon were to Mexico, Puerto Rico, cruise ships, and  Las Vegas.  They just recently held their annual Rep Fest in Las Vegas where reps were recognized, given training, had a concert by the musical group American Authors, and were given a motivational teaching by Suze Orman.  They also got a sneak preview of all of the upcoming products.  There are also local meetings where reps are recognized for their success, enjoy a training, and see upcoming products.

These are some of the reasons why I enjoy owning my own beauty business with Avon.

It’s great because I love what I do and I have lots of fun doing it, it never really feels like work.  Being, what I like to call, a Mompreneur, I’m always open to money-making opportunities, but I think I will always sell Avon!  I didn’t even mention how Avon has been around for 130 years and they have their own Women’s Foundation where they bring attention to causes, such as domestic violence and breast cancer.  Avon even has its own breast cancer research center where they raise money for a cure.

Does this sound like something you would enjoy doing?  You can sign up to sell Avon and start your own beautiful business here:

http://tinyurl.com/jq4rw9m

 

img_4030

Find me on social media!

Facebook  .  Instagram  .  Twitter . Bloglovin

*Image and video belong to Avon LLC
*This post includes links, that when clicked, lead to other blog posts or websites. Product links are items that I have used, or would like to try, and would recommend. I do receive a slight commission through some, not all, product links

Leave a Reply

