The End of the Matter

The End of the Matter

For the sake of completing my reviews of what I learned from my study of the Book of Ecclesiastes, I’m going to combine week 7 & 8 in this post.

img_3984img_3958

 

The time is now…

img_4054img_3956
Solomon’s advice can be taken both in a physical sense and a spiritual sense in my life. He’s basically saying that if I wait around until the timing is “perfect” to accomplish something, it will never get done. There will always be something that gets in the way or that distracts me or in some way prevents me from accomplishing my goals!

In the physical sense, I think about the conundrum of work vs. waiting. I sometimes have a difficult time when I’m making a decision about something; I know I must pray about it, but I never know whether to wait until I hear/see an answer or feel a prompting from the Lord before I move?  Or do I pray and then move in that direction to see if God will open doors, and if He doesn’t, then I know that’s not in His plan for me, so then I can try a different direction?

And spiritually, I can take this to mean that I must always be about my Father’s business. I shouldn’t wait to witness to someone or to serve in a ministry, until I have it “all together”, because I never will have it “all together”!   I can’t look at my circumstances and wait for them to change before I get busy for the Lord, the time is now!  Also, my “work” for the kingdom will never truly be finished until I am ushered into the presence of God!

God is in control

img_3980-1
I must acknowledge the fact that I can’t predict the way the wind blows or fully understand how the spirit enters into a mother’s womb when she is pregnant!   These things are only for God to understand, for He is the maker of all, and I will never fully understand how He works. In light of this, believers should live and give our best always, because we don’t know which part of our work will be fruitful, since we can’t predict the future.  Also,  In every season of our lives, whether we are young or old, enjoy our life, because it goes by so fast!  Live in such a way, knowing that we will be held accountable for everything we do.   Be a diligent worker, working for the Lord, don’t hold anything back from Him…give Him my all! After all, He gave His all for me!

Again, I see here that the time is now!

img_4053img_3979

How many times have I heard a young person say that they will give their lives to God when they get older?  Or they say that they want to have fun, and once they’ve experienced having fun, then they will accept Jesus as their savior!  When I hear such things, I always ask, how do you know you will live to be that old?  How do you know you will make it passed your youth, are you willing to risk your eternal destiny?  Then I think about how much we can do for the kingdom of heaven while we are young; when we are full of life, vigor, physical strength and stamina!  I do wish I would’ve taken my relationship with the Lord a lot more seriously in my youth…but I didn’t know any better back then!  Thankfully, I am still young-ish, and that’s the great thing about God, it’s never too late!  I can live my life whole-heartedly for Him and use my gifts, talents and influence for the kingdom of heaven, NOW!  And I pray to have this attitude about me for the rest of my days! I hope to never get to the age where I just stop enjoying living and serving God!

Get wisdom

img_3982
Wisdom can sometimes be painful, because it reveals to me where I fall short, where I make mistakes, what changes in my life, or in my thinking, need to be made {2 Tim. 3:16}. It’s, as the bible describes, a refining fire used to remove the dross {Zechariah. 13:9, Malachi 3:2} . It’s like a sharply tooled surgical device that cuts between bone and marrow {Heb. 4:12}. None of which sound very pleasant, but all are for my own good, since it teaches me to be godly and draws me nearer to Christ.  The bible also describes wisdom as a sharp stick that the shepherd uses to guide the sheep so that their behavior will “stick”. This wisdom will be embedded in my heart, planted within me, deeply rooted, because it’s firmly driven in like firmly driven nails. This wisdom is given to me by the Good Shepherd, God himself. Again, for my good.

Death is certain, but how will you live?

img_3981-1
The ONE thing on this earth we can be certain of, is that we are all going to die, (unless you are raptures!). With this in mind,  I SHOULD grab hold of everything that comes my way and do it heartily, as if it was my last chance to do so. Not because we’re all going to die, but because I serve the One True God and it is pleasing to Him. If there’s one thing that I’ve learned from Solomon after studying the book of Ecclesiastes, it is this: my purpose in life is to live to glorify the Lord, in whatever place He has me in.  The world view says to live life with the attitude of carpe diem, seize the day, you only live once, etc, etc, but God’s people should live their lives saying; make the most of every opportunity given by God, and it’s not about me it’s all about Him. This is how I want to live my life, making the most of everything God has given me to do in this life, doing everything heartily and to the glory of God!

Verses like these popped into my mind as I read today.

“We hear that some among you are idle and disruptive. They are not busy; they are busybodies.” ‭2 Thessalonians‬ 3:11

“to be self-controlled and pure, to be busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands, so that no one will malign the word of God.” Titus‬ ‭2:5‬ ‭NIV‬‬
“and to make it your ambition to lead a quiet life: You should mind your own business and work with your hands, just as we told you,” 1 Thessalonians‬ ‭4:11‬ ‭NIV‬‬

img_3974img_3957

All of these verses hit close to home for me!  As a SAHM and a homemaker I must be diligent in my work. I must stay busy. It can be tempting at times to lay on the couch watching TV all day, or to not even get up and get out of bed at all, because nobody is necessarily counting on me to be somewhere at a specific time, nor am I expected to complete specific tasks by a specific deadline. However, I must remember I answer to the Ultimate Boss…God. I’m not working for “man”, I am working for Him. This should motivate me to be a hard worker and not to be lazy or idle. There are so many verses in the bible that speak on, and against, laziness, therefore it must be a subject that is important to God.
Yet, on the flip-side, I must be careful not to put all the emphasis on what I “do” for God and become works driven. As Joy pointed out in her blog post earlier this week, we must find the balance between work and rest, realizing that EVERYTHING we do is unto the Lord, including rest.  I also observe, through the above verses, how idleness/laziness and foolish/evil talk, can go hand in hand…interesting.

img_3983

The end of the matter

When we come to know Jesus as our Savior, His Holy Spirit comes to dwell inside of us.  The Holy Spirit gives us counsel, discernment, good judgment and wisdom as we seek Him.  But that is the key, as believers, we must seek Him.  It is still possible for a believer to think foolishly and make stupid decisions, mainly because the believer is walking in the flesh.  As believers we all still must contend with our flesh.  We must decide who’s voice we will obey, the voice of the flesh or the voice of the Holy Spirit.  When we listen to the fleshly voice, we are thinking foolishly and will make foolish decisions.  And when we make foolish decisions, it really does cancel out any wisdom that we have displayed before, and it can destroy our witness.  I know, because I’ve done it!  I am learning that I must be deliberate and intentional about seeking God’s way of thinking over my own twisted way of thinking.  On the same token, I must be cautious to use my words wisely and not talk just to hear myself talk. The bible says that out of the heart come the spring of life; like the bible app talked about, “When a believer’s heart is centered on God, her speech will be transformed by Him to reflect and glorify Him.”.  That is what I strive to do, keep my heart and my focus on God so that my words would reflect and glorify Him!

“Words kill, words give life; they’re either poison or fruit—you choose.”  Proverbs‬ ‭18:21‬ ‭MSG‬‬

“The more talk, the less truth; the wise measure their words.”  Proverbs‬ ‭10:19‬ ‭MSG‬‬

“May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing to you, O LORD, my rock and my redeemer.”  Psalms‬ ‭19:14‬ ‭NLT‬‬

img_4030

Interested in learning more about the Love God Greatly ministry?  Visit lovegodgreatly.com

Leave a Reply

