An Eternal Perspective

An Eternal Perspective

image

Oh my goodness, I am so behind on my re-caps of my Ecclesiastes study!

The study is officially over, and I am gearing up to begin a study on the life of David next week, and I’ve only chronicled weeks 4 & 5 of Ecclesiastes!  I do apologize.  I’m going to try to finish up these updates by next week, that way I can begin writing about what I learn through studying David’s life.

Here are the valuable lessons I learned in week 6:

image

Respect authority out of my love for God.

I am a firm believer that God is the one who places specific people in places of authority over His creation. You find examples of that concept throughout the bible i.e.. you see how He allowed foreign Kings and kingdoms to rule over the Israelites throughout the Old Testament and how He placed Rome in authority over them in the New Testament. The bible says that God places people in authority for His purpose and in His timing.  I believe He still does that today. God is a God of order; He places people in “ranks”, if you will.  You see it in examples of Governments, in marriages, in the work place, in churches, and in the Body of Christ (preachers, teachers, students), and Christ is at the head over all authority. As a believer, I must respect the authority that has been placed over me.  I must honor and obey that authority and not have a rebellious heart toward those that God has placed in authority over me.  This is the will of God.  HOWEVER, there are times, and we see this throughout the bible as well, when the authority that God has set into place, rebel against Him; as believers, our allegiance is to God first and foremost. My ultimate obedience should be to God alone. This is the tricky part of living in this world and that is why Solomon says that it takes wisdom to know how and when to obey authority.  I must ask God for extreme wisdom, daily!

image

Fear God.

Solomon kind of touched on this principle in week 1.  As believers, it’s easy to get distracted by the evil that goes on around us.  We can become discouraged and disheartened when we see wicked people getting away with murder, (both literally and figuratively)!  I know I’ve personally gotten to the point of throwing in the towel and saying forget it!  I’ve found myself asking, why am I always the one trying to change my ways, trying to live by God’s standards and always messing up?  Why am I the one who always has to seek forgiveness and repentance time and again; while the rest of the world is running about living for themselves, sinning and without a care in the world!  But Solomon is right! The one who fears God and lives in reverence of Him, always fares better in the end!

image

A personal relationship with Jesus is key.

Again, going back to EVERYTHING we’ve learned so far about finding TRUE joy, TRUE peace, TRUE happiness, TRUE love, TRUE meaning in life, and TRUE purpose; these only come through having a relationship with Jesus Christ and living for Him in all areas.  Living for anything else is temporal and amounts to nothing in the end!!  I am remineed of these verses throughout the bible.

♥️“As for you, brothers, do not grow weary in doing good.”   2 Thessalonians‬ ‭3:13‬ ‭ESV‬‬
♥️“For I will satisfy the weary soul, and every languishing soul I will replenish.””   Jeremiah‬ ‭31:25‬ ‭ESV‬‬
♥️“Have you not known? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary; his understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength. Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted; but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.”   Isaiah‬ ‭40:28-31‬ ‭ESV‬‬

image

Have an eternal perspective.

Oh Solomon…this particular translation of the verses we read today, made me chuckle…

“So, I’m all for just going ahead and having a good time—the best possible. The only earthly good men and women can look forward to is to eat and drink well and have a good time—compensation for the struggle for survival these few years God gives us on earth.”   ‭‭Ecclesiastes‬ ‭8:15‬ ‭MSG‬‬

…really Solomon, that’s what your conclusion is after everything you wrote about in chapters 1-7??   I see here that Solomon is essentially taking on a “world” point of view again. But, today’s bible app devotion puts it perfectly:

“Believers, however, must focus and keep an eternal perspective…Although we may want to simply shut down and satisfy our flesh, it is important that we trust God in our despair, walk in faith, and glorify Him no matter our circumstance.”

Yes, an eternal perspective is crucial. I can’t look at the goings on in the world around me and take it at its worth; there is an unseen, spiritual war going on all around me. As a daughter of the King, I must be vigilant and stay on guard. While the Lord desires His children to take pleasure in all of His creation and use our blessings for our good and for His glory, my eyes must remain upon Him. As I’ve already learned, there’s a time for all things under the Son; and that includes a time for enjoyment of life but also a time to stand up for what is right and battle on for our eternal salvation and that of our loved ones.

image

Don’t try to figure God out…just trust Him.

If the wisest of men can’t figure out why God does what He does, if Solomon himself couldn’t figure it out, how do I expect to figure it out?  I need to stop trying!  I practically drive myself crazy sometimes!  I think I know what God is doing, or the way He is leading me, but then it turns out that I was wrong!!  I would be CERTAIN, all of the signs pointed to that direction, but when I walk through that “door”, it turns out that was not where God was leading me at all, then I find myself despairing and asking why.  But It’s a mystery, and God’s ways are above my ways.  I need to not question Him and just trust Him, even when it doesn’t make any sense to me, even when I cannot see the big picture, because He does and He IS trustworthy.
img_4030

 

Find out more about Love God Greatly at lovegodgreatly.com

If you would like to join my next Facebook study group, drop a line in the comments section and I will get back to you! 

Find me on social media:

Facebook  .  Instagram  .  Twitter

 

Leave a Reply

