Avon True Color Matte Eyeshadow Review

Avon True Color Matte Eyeshadow Review

image

Are you in love with the matte eyeshadow?

I know that matte makeup is currently a HUGE trend going on in the world of makeup!  There are matte lipsticks, nail polishes, foundations, bronzers and eyeshadows, and matte, I don’t even know what else.  I can understand the appeal of the matte look, after all it looks really chic and put together, it has a more staying power, plus it’s also less aging on the more mature face.  Though, I’m really not sure about matte eyeshadow…

When Avon released their own line of matte eyeshadows, a few months ago,

I decided to give it a try.  I was going to order one of each of the 5 palettes from my demo book, but decided against it, just in case I didn’t like it.  I ended up just ordering one, the Desert Sunset palette.  I’m no makeup artist by any means, but I’m a fan of makeup and I like to try different beauty trends and looks.

matte shadow

I tested the palette for the first time and really didn’t like it.

First of all, it felt like I was applying chalk onto my eyelids.  It didn’t look very blended, and I guess I didn’t see what all the hype was about matte eyeshadow.  But, I’m a pretty fair person and wanted to give it more than one chance.  So I tried it a few more times. I got better at the application of the shadows, and honestly, it didn’t look AS BAD as the first time I tried it.

Avon True Color Matte Eyeshadow Sunset Desert

Desert Sunset Quad

 

I guess it’s an ok look, I like to wear it now,when I’m going for a more natural look.

 

But honestly, this girl needs a little bit of shimmer on her eyes!  And, to be fair to matte eyeshadows across the world, I know that it may just be this specific brand of shadow that I’m using.  I could try another brand and find that it blows me away, and become a fan of matte eyeshadow.  But as far as reviewing Avon True Color Matte Eyeshadow, I would rate it a 3 out of 5.

Here are some reviews from real life customer on the Avon website:

  • 5.0

Coverage without creasing later!

By KLR from Los Angeles, CA

 Pros
  • Easy To Apply
  • Good Pigmentation
  • Good Value
  • Long Lasting
  • No creasing effect later

Cons

 Best Uses
  • Daily Use
  • Sensitive Skin
Comments about True Color Matte Eyeshadow Quad: I apply daily around my eyes and appreciate the solid coverage that doesn’t end up creasing later.
  • Age:
  • 45-54
  • I shop Avon:
  • more than 6x a year
  • Skin Tone:
  • Fair
  • 4.0

Eyes

By Beav from Cheek.ny

 Pros
  • Easy To Apply
  • Good Pigmentation
  • Good Value
  • Cons
  • Wears Off Easily

Best Uses

  • Normal Skin
 Comments about True Color Matte Eyeshadow Quad: Love the colors just wish it stayed on longer
  • Age:
  • 45-54
  • I shop Avon:
  • 2-3 x a year
  • Skin Tone:
  • Medium

Bottom Line Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

  • 1.0

Disappointed!

By Bee from San Antonio

 Pros
  • Good Value

Cons

  • Difficult to Apply

Best Uses

  • Special Occasions
 Comments about True Color Matte Eyeshadow Quad: I ordered in two colors and don’t like either one. Colors are too vibrant and do not blend well. I tried several different times using a brush or a sponge applicator. I had to wipe some of it off and use another brand/color to tone it down. I do not have a heavy hand when applying and have not had this problem with other brands. I definitely will not be buying more of this product. Very disappointed!
  • Age:
  • 55 yrs and older
  • I shop Avon:
  • 4-6 x a year
  • Skin Tone:
  • Fair
  •  By ValB from Falling Waters WV
 Pros
  • Good Pigmentation
  • Good Value

Cons

  • Difficult to Apply
  • Wears Off Easily

Best Uses

  • Sensitive Skin
 Comments about True Color Matte Eyeshadow Quad: I wasn’t real thrilled with this product. It didn’t go on as well as I expected
  • Age:
  • 55 yrs and older
  • I shop Avon:
  • 2-3 x a year
  • Skin Tone:
  • Medium
 Bottom Line No, I would not recommend this to a friend

If you’d like to try Avon True Color Eyeshadow for yourself or any other Avon makeup, you can purchase on my website,  https://mistiemasters.avonrepresentative.com/.

Today Only FLASH SALE on my website!!  Expires 5/13/16, midnight EST

Here is a makeup tutorial using Avon’s matte makeup.  Of course celebrity makeup artist, Lauren Anderson, makes the eyeshadow look amazing!

http://youtu.be/ngcRaz59iKU avon4.me/1TdqoSk
img_4030

 

If you are into matte eyeshadow, please share in the comments, which are your favorite brands to use.  span>

Find me on social media!

Facebook  .  Instagram  .  Twitter

 

 

 

*some images and content belong to Avon Products, LLC

**customer reviews from avon.com

*This post includes links, that when clicked, lead to other blog posts or websites. Product links are items that I have used, or would like to try, and would recommend. I do receive a slight commission through some, not all, product links

 

Leave a Reply

