Enjoy Your Life

Enjoy Your Life

I decided to write a weekly re-cap on what I learn each week in my study of the Book of Ecclesiastes.

I just got the idea to do this, so I’m going to start in week 4. Week 5 of my study of the Book of Ecclesiastes is almost at an end, but I’m just now writing about what I learned in week 4!!  But, here goes:

First off, Ecclesiastes is a very hard book of the bible to read through!  At first glance, it seems like an extremely depressing book!  It’s written by King Solomon, as he chronicles his life experiences.  Here is a king who was blessed by God with wisdom, wealth, possessions, wives, children, land, and peace throughout his land, and all he can talk about in this book is the futility of life!  But, upon taking each verse and really digging into it, I have found a very different conclusion to his writings.  I have found hope, meaning, and purpose for my life!

In the first few weeks of studying through Ecclesiastes, I realized that God has a very specific plan for my life; for every life.

He has given each one of us talents, gifts, (and when we come to know Him as our Savior, He also blesses us with spiritual gifts), our personality and our interests.  He has placed each and every one of us exactly where He wants us to be, so that we can use all of these blessings in our lives to serve others, make the world a better place around us, and to point each other to Him.  He desires that we use all of these blessings so that we can enjoy life!  Yes, you heard me correctly, so that we CAN ENJOY LIFE!  He is a God who created all things…including FUN.  He wants us to enjoy this life while we are here on earth, with the ultimate promise of enjoying eternal life in heaven with Him some day.  In order to live in this manner, He wants us to acknowledge Him in all things.

That brings me to week 4.

The main thing I took from this week is the fact that money can never make me happy.  Yes, it’s true that sometimes I think that having more money would be the answer to all of life’s problems, but if I’m really honest about it…it won’t.  How many times have I been blessed with a little extra money in a week and, instead of putting it to good use, I usually end up squandering it or unexpected expenses pop up, and then I’m back to square 1?!  I also look at some of the most wealthy people in the world and see how unhappy they are; so if they have so much money, why are they so unhappy?

I just realized that living solely for gaining more money, or more possessions, will not truly make me happy.

I may enjoy it in the moment, but once it’s gone, then what?  There is more to life than accumulating stuff.  Enjoying my life in every aspect, including, and especially in, my relationships with others.  God is a god of relationships.  He created us, first to have a relationship with Him, and next to have relationships with one another.  We were never meant to do life alone.  He created us a desire for human interaction, human touch, and intimacy.   That is why He said, in the Garden of Eden, that it was not good for man to be alone, and then He created Eve.  He created us to enjoy our lives by knowing and being known by other people.  That is what life is about, not only monetary things.

However, money in and of itself is not a bad thing…it’s not evil.image

Going back to what I learned in the first few weeks, God blesses me and places me where He wants me, therefore, if He chooses to bless me with money then I should use it to honor Him.  Again, not living for the money, but living my life for Him.  Basically, whatever lot I have in life; whatever talents and abilities He’s given me, whatever interests He’s given me, whatever job He’s given me, the people that He has placed in my life,  are all a gift from God and He wants me to make the most of it so that I can enjoy my life! He wants me to enjoy the here and now, not brooding over what I don’t have or wish I would have.  He doesn’t want me regretting the past or fearful of the future.  He wants me to find joy in my living in the every day.

Lastly, I learned that God is sovereign over all, He knows what I need, when I need it and how.

He knows what I can handle and what is best for my specific circumstance.  Who am I to question the God of the universe?  Who am I to question where He has me and what He’s given me?  I’m a mere mortal…He is eternal GOD!  The wonderful thing about God is that I can’t explain Him.  I don’t know how He can predestine our lives, yet at the same time give us free will and choices!  It’s mind-blowing.  But, He stands outside of space and time and WAY outside of my understanding!  He. Is. God.  I can fully trust in Him because He is trustworthy!

Is it possible?  To truly enjoy the life I have?  To truly find meaning and  purpose for my life?

These are questions coming from a woman who has never been happy with who she is.  Who has always wished that God had given her different life experiences and different life circumstances.  A woman who’s never been comfortable in her own skin and who never thought she was enough; always felt inadequate.  A woman who has always lived her life in fear of failure, so she quit before she ever could.

But, I am learning that with God, all things are possible!

Interested in learning more about the Love God Greatly Ministry?  Check them out at http://www.lovegodgreatly.com, and if you’d like to join my Facebook study group, comment below and I will get in touch with you!

Don’t forget to follow!

Find me on social media:

Facebook  .  Instagram  .  Twitter

*This post includes links, that when clicked, lead to other blog posts or websites. Product links are items that I have used, or would like to try, and would recommend. I do receive a slight commission through some, not all, product links.

 

Leave a Reply

