Hairstyles For Women Over 40

Hairstyles For Women Over 40

There’s such a stigma out there as to what a woman in her 40’s is supposed to look like.

Image courtesy of Marin at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Marin at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

For a minute, I began to think that my longer, ombre hair was no longer acceptable for a woman my age. In an attempt to find a hairstyle that was more “suitable” for a 40 year old, I turned to the internet to do some research. I Googled the term, “Hairstyles For Women Over 40″. The search turned up article after article on this specific topic. As I began to read the articles, I was never more offended in my life, (yes, that’s an exaggeration, but you know where I’m going with this). Many of articles were talking about how women over 40 shouldn’t have long hair.  They shouldn’t wear braids or have crazy colors in their hair. Their styles should be mid-length or shorter, with soft highlights to brighten the face. If you wear an up-do, it shouldn’t be worn on the top of your head, and should be worn in a way that wasn’t too polished. If you are going to do bangs, make sure they are not straight across or blunt bangs.  And if any of these rules were broken, the woman either is making herself look too old, or  as she is ddesperately trying to cling to her youth!! I found myself getting upset, even angry, at these posts. I’ve never been one to worry about getting older, but these articles made it sound like I should just shrivel up and fade into the darkness, just because I am 40!

Then I stumbled upon a blogger that had the cheekiest article on the subject.

It made me smile to see the irony that this author was referring to.  The post gave me reprieve that I wasn’t the only one who found offense in this stigma. I loved her view on the fact that a woman should wear her hair in whatever way made her feel comfortable and confident. I do agree that a hairstyle must enhance your features and the color should brighten the face, but this can be said about any age. I certainly know I’m not a teen or a 20 yr old anymore…nor do I want to relive those days…but I still have my taste and my own style. If I want to wear my hair in pigtail french braids, I will. If I want to change the color of my blonde ombre to bright red, I will. If I want to wear a cute ponytail on the top of my head, I will. That’s the way I like to look, that’s what makes me feel confident and pretty, and that’s what getting older is all about…it’s realizing that with age, I’ve earned the right to do whatever the heck I want with my hair!

After all, these lovely 40-somethings are doing it and they’re doing it well!!!

  1. Ponytail on top of your head 
  2. Topknot
  3. Braids
  4. Long hair
  5. Long beachy wavy hair
  6. Fun haircolor
  7. Long hair with bangs

What do you think, should women over 40 have long hair?  Leave comments below!

4 thoughts on “Hairstyles For Women Over 40

  1. erika says:

    Yes! Thank you for posting this. I totally agree that at 40 you’ve earned the right to wear your hair however makes you feel more confident

    Like

Leave a Reply

