3D Lash Mascara: Does It Work?

3D Lash Mascara: Does It Work?

Let me just begin by saying, my eyelash struggle is real, yall!

Turning 40 brought some changes! One of the many changes that I noticed, in my appearance, as I entered my 40’s, were my eyelashes. I never did have the long, luscious, curly lashes that I desired, or struggled for so many years to achieve. I always longed for full, curly, long lashes, in fact, to achieve that dersire, I used to battle with my eyelash curler.  One day, the eyelash curler won; by ripping out a chunk of eyelashes! That was a disaster!

I tried countless mascaras, all promised to make my lashes look darker, fuller, longer to no avail.

Yes, I even tried falsies, which as hard as I tried, was a look I was never able to pull off.  With age, I noticed my lashes were a bit thinner and less manageable, as they only wanted to go straight down. I heard about lash extensions, but didn’t feel it was wise to spend that much money just on eyelashes. So, as fiber lash mascara grew in popularity, I was beyond excited! I saw photo after photo of “befores and afters” on social media, showcasing these women with gorgeous lashes. Wow, could a mascara really make my eyelashes look like that?? And for only $30?? I was willing to give it a try. So I asked for a “3D fiber lash mascara” for Christmas, and to my pure delight, my brother bought it for me!

image image

Now, I’m a newbie to all of this.

I didn’t know that there were different companies that sold similar mascaras, or if one was better than the other. The brand my brother bought me was called Lash Factory 3D 300X Fiber Lash Mascarathat he ordered off Amazon. Excited as I was, I was also very nervous about trying it out, so I watched many YouTube tutorials so I would do it right. The first time I tried it, I could tell a bit of difference in the length and color of my lashes, but nothing like the pics I saw online. I was a bit disappointed, but chalked it up to my inexperience, I must have to practice more.

My lashes after using Lash Factory 300X 3D Fiber Lash Mascara.

image

With Lash Factory 300X 3D Fiber Lash Mascara

I tried the the mascara a couple more times and was content with how it worked, (not blown away by the results, but content). About my third practice round, at the end of the night, as I washed my face before bed, I washed the mascara off along with the tips of my eyelashes!! I couldn’t believe it. If I thought my eyelashes were thin and weak before, you should see them now! I barely have any, my poor babies are gone! I immediately looked up reviews on Amazon, on this specific brand and found only 1 other person that this happened to! Only 1, out of the 50 + reviews that I read! I couldn’t believe it, this was just my luck. (It never dawned on me to return the mascara and get my money back until after the 30 day money back guarantee.) So now I’m stuck with this mascara and hardly any lashes to put it on!

image

My Lashes Gone

So, I did what any sensible woman would do.  I volunteered for a friend of a friend, who was practicing to become an Eyelash Extension Tech. I was so excited, I was finally going to have the lashes of my dreams! I laid down on her comfy massage bed, looking thing. She was so sweet, she had a little pillow for under my head and one to prop up my feet, as I anxiously allowed her to work her magic. This sweet lady, so calm, cool, and collected, worked for 3 hours on my lashes. I noticed about half way through, that things weren’t going exactly as planned.  After hearing her sigh, hum and ho, and…drop a few “f” bombs, I got the idea that my eyelashe extensions weren’t going so well! 3 hours later and all she was able to put on were 3 lash extensions on each eye! Yes, that’s 1-2-3 individual lashes on each eye!  I know she felt so awful, and I think the experience gave her second thoughts about doing this as a profession.  I haven’t heard from her since. I was disappointed to say the least.

Now, my cousin and my friend had both been using Younique 3D Fiberlash Moonstruck Mascara

image image

and were swearing by it. I was apprehensive, but I thought I’d try it, after all what worse could happen? I purchased the mascara through a independent Younique distributor for $31 and I tried it right away. I absolutely LOVE it!!! I could tell the difference between the Lash Factory and the Younique right away and I could see the difference as well. The formula is a little more sticky in the Younique and I have to be careful that it doesn’t transfer under my eyes, or else I get these black mascara marks. It gives me the lashes I’ve always wanted, so I would have to say this product really works!  I would give it a 4 out of 5, considering the whole black marks under my eyes thing.

 

Share below if you’ve ever tried 3D Fiberlash Mascara and what your experience was.

One thought on “3D Lash Mascara: Does It Work?

Leave a Reply

